Uría Menéndez inaugurates its new office in Poland

The new office in Warsaw consists of five people that form part of the Eastern Europe Practice Group

June 11, 2008

Uría Menéndez inaugurated yesterday its new office in Warsaw with a ceremony attended by the Spanish ambassador to Poland, Mr. Rafael Mendívil Peydro. Also present were representatives of some of the most important law firms in Poland and Iberian companies with interests in Eastern Europe.

The Warsaw office currently consists of five people which include two Spanish lawyers and two Polish lawyers. The office is headed by partner Agustín Redondo, a lawyer in the firm since 1997.

During the ceremony, Mr. Redondo stated that “it is fortunate for Uría Menéndez to be able to develop its practice in Central and Eastern European from Poland and to live in Warsaw during these years of intense growth in which the country is undergoing transformation. It is also a pleasure to watch how Spanish and Portuguese companies take part in this process and how we can assist them.”

The opening of the Warsaw office is an essential element of Uría Menéndez’s Eastern Europe Practice Group, which coordinates all the actions of the firm’s clients in the region alongside the most recognised local law firms. Romana Sadurska, a partner and member of the senior management team in charge of coordinating the day-to-day operation of the firm, is the coordinator of the practice group.

The firm maintains its international strategy with the same approach as it has used successfully in other offices such as London and New York City. The significant increase in Spanish and Portuguese investments in Eastern Europe, particularly in Poland, has caused companies to require the presence of their lawyers in order to assist them in their transactions abroad.

Uría Menéndez has offices in Spain (Madrid, Barcelona, Valencia and Bilbao), Portugal (Lisbon and Porto), the United Kingdom  (London), Belgium (Brussels), Poland (Warsaw), the United States (New York City), Brazil (São Paulo), Chile (Santiago de Chile), Argentina (Buenos Aires), Mexico (Mexico D.C.) and Peru (Lima).